from Quick and Easy Vegan Comfort Food by Alicia C. Simpson

1/2 c unbleached all-purpose flour
1/2 c whole wheat pastry flour
1/2 c ground flaxseed
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp grated nutmeg
1/3 c sugar
1 c plain soy or oat milk
1/4 c canola oil plus more for the muffin pan
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 c grated carrot (about 2 medium-large carrots)
3/4 c raisins soaked in warm water for 10 minutes and drained, soaking optional (I did, and loved the plumpification that happened as a result)
1/2 c chopped pecans or walnuts, optional

Preheat the oven to 400F. Line a muffin pan with baking cups or lightly grease with canola oil.

Mix the flours, flaxseed, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, and sugar.

Create a small well in the center and add in the soy milk, oil, and vanilla. Mix until there are no more clumps of flour or flaxseed.

Fold in the carrots, then raisins and pecans, if using.

Fill the muffin tins or baking cups three-quarters full. Bake for 20 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Makes 12 muffins.

Amazing! I made these super easy, super quick muffins to freeze as the occasional sweet snack for my baby. She LOVES them! Since the day she hurdled into toddlerhood, she’s been a bit pickier about her veggies, so I’ve been trying to figure out ways to sneak them in to her favorites, which now happen to be carbs (she is my kid, after all), and fruit. So, we have lovely combos of beets floating in applesauce, and veggies in her dessert. Someday, when she’s trying to get my grandbaby to eat well, she’ll totally understand.
This is the third recipe I’ve tried from this book, and I think so far it’s the best! Simpson has another cookbook that just came out this month! Here it is- anybody want to send me a birthday gift? You know how much I like to share…
I must admit, I upped the cinnamon and nutmeg in this recipe. I like things spicy! I also think that the combo of those spices makes things taste a bit sweeter. Plus, cinnamon is really good for you. Overall, these muffins are actually quite good for you too. Flaxseed, carrots, whole wheat flour… maybe subbing agave syrup would be an option too. And coconut oil for the canola? Yum. Let me tell you, it was really good slathered on top of the muffin, so I know the flavors can play nice together!
