from Vegan Yum Yum by Lauren Ulm

1 1/2 c soymilk
1 tbsp sugar
2 tbsp oil
1 c spelt (or all-purpose) flour
1/3 c all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp extract (Ulm suggests orange, but I used the “no-brainer” vanilla)
1-2 tbsp water, to thin batter if needed

Note: If using only all-purpose flour for this recipe, you may need to add more liquid. Regular flour absorbs more moisture than spelt.

Add soymilk to your blender. Add remaining ingredients except the water and blend for a few seconds until combined. Scrape down any dry flour stuck to the side of the jar and blend again. Place the top on the blender and refrigerate overnight. You can also use the batter immediately.

In the morning, place the blender back on the base and add 1-2 tbsp of water, blend to mix. This re-thins the batter that had thickened overnight.

Preheat oven to 200 F, or the lowest setting, and put an oven-safe plate on the middle rack. Heat a non-stick skillet over medium heat for a few minutes. Pour the batter directly into the center of the UNgreased heated pan. I like silver dollar sized pancakes, 2 1/2 to 3″ in diameter, but you can make any size you want. This batter should create fairly thin pancakes.

After a few minutes of cooking, you’ll see the bubbles form and set on the uncooked side of the pancake. The batter will start to set, and it will change color from white to dull yellow. This is when you should flip. If your pancake isn’t brown by this time, turn your heat up. If it is overly brown, your heat is too high. While cooking the pancakes, place the finished ones directly into the oven on the plate. Stack the pancakes as you go. This will keep the whole stack warm while you’re cooking them.

While the pancakes are cooking, feel free to add blueberries, chocolate chips, or anything else you can imagine. Serve with vegan margarine (Earth Balance) and maple syrup.

Oh Vegan Yum Yum, you have come through for me again! Thank you! As I woke this morning I was thinking of pancakes. I consulted the trusty Yum Yum app on my iPhone, and discovered this recipe. Obviously I didn’t have time to let it refrigerate overnight, but it wasn’t necessary. I used spelt flour, so I didn’t need to use the extra water that she suggested. And the oil I chose to use, you ask? Coconut oil, of course. It’s the thing of 2010 for me.  I did need to use some oil for my griddle though… but that just gave me an opportunity to use some MORE COCONUT OIL. Fabulous. I did try putting a few blueberries onto the pancakes as they cooked on the first side, but that situation wasn’t pretty enough for me, so I left them out and placed them on top of my beautiful pancake stack after it came out of the oven. These pancakes are a little on the dense side- and I really love that. I’m not a plate-sized fluffy pancake kind of girl. Give me the condensed version. And many of them.
Want to know what else I topped that stack with, in addition to maple syrup? You guessed it. More coconut oil. For the smothering part, I used virgin coconut oil, which has the better flavor. The processed oil is less expensive, but not as tasty, so it’s good for baking and cooking. Here are the two that currently reside in my cupboard:

I can’t even tell you how many jars of this stuff I’ve gone through since I cracked open the first one at the beginning of this year. It’s AMAZING on popcorn with salt (sorry tummy, I’m not going to stop until I’ve raced my husband to the bottom of that giant bowl), on toast, for frying bananas, on these zucchini muffins, on saltine crackers for baby, to cook veggies in for an Asian stir-fry… really, the possibilities are endless. I’ve heard of people using it as lotion on their skin, but I haven’t tried it, which is weird since I’m also a lotion junkie- why not bring two of my favorite things together? Let me know what you like to smother with coconut oil!
