from How it all Vegan! by Tanya Barnard and Sarah Kramer

4-5 medium potatoes, cubed
1/8 c olive oil
8 cloves garlic, minced (Eek! I only had 5. The shame!)
2 tsp sage
2 tbsp rosemary
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp pepper

Preheat oven to 400 F. Place the cubed potatoes in a medium bowl and add the rest of the ingredients and stir together. Lay evenly onto a cookie sheet or lasagna pan and bake in the oven for 30-40 minutes, until potatoes are golden brown and can be easily pierced with a fork. Makes 4-6 servings.

I’ve been craving a good Breakfast For Dinner for some time now, but since I’m so into having Breakfast For Breakfast as well, I can’t really in good conscience bring myself to make pancakes for dinner. Where would I get my veggies for the day? I tend to get most of my veggies in the afternoon and evening meals. I’m just not a Green Smoothie For Breakfast kind of gal like my sister is, unless I’m visiting her and she’s the breakfast maker. But I couldn’t stop thinking about it! So I broke down and bought the bag of little yellow potatoes, those buttery little gems that I tend to eat way too many of. Then I found this simple recipe…. which could be changed in so many different ways for different veggies or flavors. Like I said, I didn’t have enough garlic, but they were still really good! I used fresh rosemary and sage, perhaps 2-3 times what it called for, and it was perfect. I also used really chunky sea salt. Yum! The amount of oil called for is perfect. Just enough to coat the taters without making them greasy.
Now, what to pair my potatoes with? I came up with this super tasty scramble using the BEST VEGAN CHEESE SUBSTITUTE. EVER. Bean and I found it while we visited her in the Bay Area, and I hoped that I’d find it at my local grocer, and I did! On sale! It’s now a fridge staple. It’s so melty and stretchy, as promised on the package. Plus, it’s soy and gluten-free, so I can enjoy it with my sister! I’ve been making quesadillas with it, and even made pizza last night. BOMB!!! Thank you Daiya, you’ve changed my life. I just need to exercise twice as much as I did before in order to keep things in balance. Look at this beautiful bag (no kitty, you can’t have any) and forgive my ever fading light as the summer goes away:
Here’s my scramble recipe. It’s simple and easy and also adaptable.

1 tbsp olive oil
1 small red onion, cut into small slices
1 red bell pepper, chopped
1 16-oz package soft or medium tofu
1 c halved cherry tomatoes
1/4 c Daiya mozzarella style shreds
1 tbsp capers, drained
1 bunch fresh basil leaves, chopped if desired (but save a little sprig for garnish if you like things fancy!)

Drain the tofu package of water. Over a bowl, wrap the tofu in a clean tea towel or paper towels and squeeze the excess water out. Crumble and squeeze at the same time. Isn’t that a satisfying feeling? Empty the bowl of the tofu water, then unwrap the towel and set the tofu crumbles in it. Set the bowl aside. In a large pan, heat the oil on medium and add the onions, cook until they start to turn translucent. Add the peppers and cook for another few minutes, until they start to get a bit soft. Now toss in the tofu, tomatoes, “cheese,”  and capers; cook and stir until the “cheese” melts. It blends right in with the tofu! Lower the heat and stir in the basil- you don’t want to cook it, just wilt it. Put it on a plate alongside your beautiful potatoes, mark it with the fancy sprig of basil and enjoy! Serves 4.

