from Vegan Brunch by Isa Chandra Moskowitz

3/4 c chunky natural peanut butter
3 tbsp pure maple syrup
3 tbsp canola oil
2 c soy milk
1 tbsp cornstarch
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
2 1/4 c white whole wheat flour (all-purpose or whole wheat pastry flour work, too)
1 tbsp baking powder
3/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp ground nutmeg (use fresh grated if you can)
cooking spray

Preheat your waffle iron. In a large mixing bowl, mix together peanut butter, maple syrup, and canola oil until well combined. Separately, mix together the milk and cornstarch in a measuring cup and add to the batter along with the vanilla.

Add flour, baking powder, salt, and nutmeg and mix until the batter is relatively smooth.

Spray the waffle iron with cooking spray and cook waffles according to manufacturer’s directions. Makes 4 six-inch round waffles or 6 four-inch square ones.

First off, my apologies to my friends that are struggling with peanut butter addictions. That doesn’t mean that the rest of us can’t indulge every so often, right? These are super tasty. And one great thing about this recipe is that apparently a variety of different flours could be used, making it gluten-free, if you so desired. I used whole wheat pastry flour. And substitute some almond or rice milk in for that soy, and it’s soy-free too! Just for my sister! Another delightful suggestion on Isa’s (the author) part was to use a pair of chopsticks to mix the ingredients together. I was skeptical and curious, and then pleased! It worked beautifully. These waffles are just the right sort of dense to soak up your syrup… not too sweet though. I was a little conservative with the cooking spray and felt that these could have used a little more oil to give them a crispier texture, but I suppose some Earth Balance atop them might be just as delicious. I froze half of the batch and popped them in the toaster a few weekends later, and that delivered the crunch I was after! Makes me think I should make larger waffle batches all the time, especially once the tastiness of the recipe is verified, as this one most certainly is. Is it Saturday yet?
