adapted from a bottle of philosophy shower gel

18.25-oz package lemon cake mix
substitute for 2 eggs (I used Ener-G egg replacer)
1/3 c olive oil
2 tsp lemon juice
1/3 c confectioners’ sugar

Preheat oven to 375F. Pour cake mix into a large bowl. Stir in egg substitute, oil, and lemon juice until well blended. Drop teaspoonfuls of dough into a bowl containing the confectioners’ sugar. Roll them around until they are lightly covered with sugar. Once sugared, put on ungreased cookie sheet. Bake 6-9 minutes.

Please stop laughing at me, you’re hurting my feelings! My friend bought me a set of these “cookie” shower gels for Christmas, and this one had me craving lemon cookies like crazy every time I used it. Plus, I was super intrigued by the olive oil in it. I figured if they tasted half as good as this goo smells, then we’re in luck. And they do! Due to the fact that I was unwilling to buy the typical cake mix that comes in the 18.25-oz box, with all of its partially hydrogenated nastiness, and list of ingredients I couldn’t pronounce… I used a Dr. Oetker mix. It was a 16.5-oz  box, so I figured I’d be close enough, and I totally was! The cookies took closer to the 9 minutes to bake, and they really spread out. I’d recommend a second cookie sheet, as well as a layer of parchment paper to keep from getting the super crusty (but super tasty) mess I ended up with! I loved that these cookies were a) easy, b) quick, c) crispy, in addition to d) chewy!
