from Viva Vegan! by Terry Hope Romero

For the Dressing:
1/2 lb ripe red tomatoes
1/2 c diced sweet white onion
1/2 green, red, or yellow bell pepper, seeded and diced (I chose yellow)
3 cloves garlic, chopped coarsely (or, ahem, 7…)
1 green chile pepper, seeded and chopped
3 tbsp olive oil
2 tbsp red wine vinegar
1 tsp dried oregano (I used about 2 tbsp fresh)
1/2 tsp salt
a pinch of sugar (optional)
freshly ground pepper
For the Salad:
4 c spinach, washed well and torn into bite-size pieces
1 (14-oz) can hearts of palm, drained, rinsed, and sliced
2 c or 1 (14-oz) can cooked black beans, rinsed
1/2 c toasted chopped Brazil nuts
1/2 large sweet white onion, sliced into thin strips

To make the dressing, combine all the ingredients in a blender or food processor and pulse until smooth. Use immediately or store tightly covered in the fridge for up to a week. To make the salad, toss the salad ingredients together.

Oh, SWOON! Lately I’ve discussed with people they might choose to eat only and forever… if you could only eat one food. My husband chose Pizza Research Institute’s vegan chef’s choice pizza, or avocado if limited to just one ingredient. I would have chosen almonds. Until now. I was flipping through the book, looking for a salad, and was absolutely giddy when I saw Brazil nut in the title. I’d joked that I was going to name my firstborn child Brazil Nut, I love them so. Don’t worry, that’s not actually my daughter’s name. I totally chickened out.
Anyhoo, this salad! It’s so refreshing yet solid. It makes four good sized servings, and there was enough dressing to top our steamed broccoli the next night. The hearts of palm, black beans, and nuts add weight, and give such a great texture variety. And that dressing! Of course it was pretty spicy with all of that garlic, but I wouldn’t change it at all! The sweet onion is what really makes me want this salad nonstop though. And what a healthy salad, provided that I can keep from going overboard with the nuts.
This cookbook has so many good looking recipes that will keep me trying new ingredients, which I’m so excited about. One recipe that I saw that I won’t be trying, as it looks too dangerous- churros! I’d eat the entire batch. We can’t have that, so you’ll just have to check out this cookbook on your own. You won’t regret it.
