Vegan feta recipe comes from Recipezaar.com

Vegan Feta
1/4 c olive oil
1/4 c water
1/2 c red wine vinegar
2 tsp salt
1 tbsp dried basil
1/2 tsp dried oregano
1/2 tsp pepper
1 lb firm tofu, herb flavored, cubed or crumbled (I used plain tofu, crumbled)

Place everything but the tofu in a bowl, and whisk to combine. Add tofu, and let sit for at least an hour.

Salad
2 large tomatoes, diced
1 large green pepper, chopped
1/2 large red onion, chopped
1/2 c kalamata olives, halved
2 large cucumbers, diced
1 recipe vegan feta
Salad greens, if desired

Place the chopped veggies into a large salad bowl, and toss. Gently stir in the vegan feta. Allow to sit at room temperature for an hour or so. Serve over greens. NOM!

I wasn’t planning on making a Greek salad, originally… My mom asked me if there was a vegan feta substitute, as she was making some sort of couscous thing that called for it at our upcoming family dinner. I told her that it would be no problem for me to whip some up (I’d always been curious), and found this recipe with just a quick search. Recipezaar is really great- you can search by ingredients, or by dish. And they list the nutrition information! Love that. There are a lot of vegan recipes. Anyway, back to dinner with my mom. She ended up scratching the aforementioned dish off the menu for the evening, without letting me know. So, I show up with my pound and then some of vegan feta. And that same vegan feta rides back home with us… to become the next night’s (and the night after that’s) main dish. No problem, it was sooo yummy and refreshing, and I’m happy to have yet another new recipe in my rotation.
