from Real Simple Magazine, May 2010

5 oz spaghetti, cooked according to package directions and rinsed under cold water
1 carrot, shredded
1 Kirby cucumber, cut into 1/4-inch pieces
4 oz firm tofu, cubed
1/4 c roasted cashews, chopped
1 tbsp canola oil
1 tbsp fresh lime juice
2 tsp toasted sesame oil
1/2 tsp kosher salt

Toss all of the ingredients together and divide the salad between 2 containers. Refrigerate for up to 1 day in advance to make brown-bag lunch of the month.

Hello super easy dinner! Hello HUGE dinner. This light yet well-rounded salad would be perfect for a warm day, but I couldn’t wait for one of those to come along to make this. I was really impressed by the dressing- it was light and perfect and not too citrus- or sesame-laden. I used a regular cucumber (which is apparently larger than a Kirby, a pickling cucumber), and subbed in some jarred roasted red peppers for the carrots, and was so pleased with the outcome! I had to toast some raw cashews too, which were really really good. I also made the dressing in a separate little dish before tossing it into the salad- I wanted even distribution of all that tastiness. Can’t let someone else hog all the salt, right? This would be a fun salad to try all sorts of veggies with. Next time I’m bringing in chopped green onions or maybe some red chili flakes. I could eat this every night, and Mike seemed to enjoy it too…
