from Veganomicon by Isa Chandra Moskowitz and Terry Hope Romero

1 2/3 c granulated sugar
2/3 c canola oil
1 (14-ounce can) coconut milk
1/4 c rice or soy milk
1/4 c lemon juice
3 tbsp finely grated lemon zest
2 tsp pure vanilla extract
3 c all-purpose flour
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1 1/2 c shredded unsweetened coconut
a few tablespoons confectioners’ sugar for sprinkling

Preheat the oven to 350F. Lightly grease an 8- or 10-inch Bundt pan.

In a large mixing bowl, combine the granulated sugar, oil, coconut milk, rice milk, lemon juice and zest, and vanilla. Stir to combine.

Sift the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt into the wet ingredients in batches, mixing well after each addition. Fold in the coconut.

Pour the batter into the Bundt pan. Bake for 1 hour, or until a knife inserted through the cake comes out clean.

Remove from the oven and let cool for about 10 minutes, then place a cutting board over the cake pan, gently flip over, and release the cake from the pan. Let cool completely. Once cooled, sift a sprinkling of confectioners’ sugar over the top. Slice and serve.

This is my new favorite cake.  I needed something to take over to my grandparents’ house for a family dinner, and originally was going to do cupcakes, but then I remembered my Bundt pan that I got for my last birthday, which I love to use. Plus, I don’t have a good cupcake transportation system.
Can we talk perfection for a moment? This cake is it. It’s like a pound cake made sweet love to angel food cake in a bed of lemon bars. UNGH! It’s a little dense with just the right amount of sweet, but it’s not heavy. You don’t need anything to go with it! A strawberry might be pretty, but it better not get between me and that cake.
I might have used more zest than called for- I didn’t measure and I love zesting. It was perfect. Just ask my grandma, Mutti.
