from Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar by Isa Chandra Moskowitz and Terry Hope Romero

1/2 c brown sugar
1/4 c white sugar
2/3 c canola oil
1/4 c unsweetened almond milk (or your favorite nondairy milk)(I used vanilla soy)
1 tbsp tapioca flour
2 tsp pure vanilla extract
1 1/2 c all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
3/4 c chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 350F. Lightly grease two large baking sheets.

Combine sugars, oil, almond milk, and tapioca flour in a mixing bowl. Use a strong fork and mix really well, for about 2 minutes, until the mixture resembles smooth caramel. There is a chemical reaction when the sugar and oil collide (who knew?), so it’s important that you don’t get lazy about that step. Mix in the vanilla.

Add 1 cup of the flour, the baking soda, and the salt. Mix until well incorporated. Mix in the rest of the flour. Fold in the chocolate chips. The dough will be a little stiff, so use your hands to really work the chips in.

For 3-inch cookies, roll the dough into balls the size of Ping-Pong balls. Flatten them out in your hands to about 2 1/2 inches. As they cook, they will spread just a bit. Place on a baking sheet and bake for about 8 minutes- no more than 9- until they are just a little browned around the edges. We usually get 16 out of these so we do two rounds of eight cookies. Let cool on the baking sheet for about 5 minutes then transfer to wire racks.

For two dozen 2-inch cookies roll dough into walnut-size balls and flatten to about 1 1/2 inches and bake for only 6 minutes.

If you are looking for the perfect cookie dough recipe, this is it. I pictured little chunks of this stuff suspended in vegan ice cream as I was cleaning off my hands after using them to incorporate the chocolate chips. I swear, Isa and Terry made me do it! I was golden up until then- not sampling the dough at all, but this gooing that took place in the name of good mixing proved too much for me. I used light brown sugar, as it’s all I had, but longed for darker, to give it more of that caramelesque flavor that chocolate chip cookies often have. I still got rave reviews on these- from the friend that stopped by and saved me from my potentially fatal dough binge, as well as from Mike. And as the authors put it, this is a one bowl cookie recipe. Thank you! I will definitely be making this classic cookie again. I used an ice cream scoop sprayed with a bit of cooking spray for quick release to plop these suckers onto the pan, and it was so nice. I did end up with bigger cookies, which needed to bake for closer to 11 minutes! They were about 4 inches from edge to beautiful edge.
