from The Gluten-Free Vegan by Susan O’Brien

2 tbsp olive or coconut oil (I used coconut, and it really added a traditional curry flavor!)
2 c chopped sweet onion, such as Vidalia
4 c (1 head or about 1 1/2 pounds) coarsely chopped organic cauliflower florets
2 cloves garlic, chopped
2 c cored and diced apple
1 c chopped walnuts
1 tsp curry powder
1/2 tsp ground turmeric
1 (32 oz) carton organic vegetable stock, or homemade (4 cups)
2 c water, or 1 c water and 1 c white wine
1 tbsp agave nectar
1 c chopped fresh cilantro
sea salt and freshly ground pepper

Heat the oil in a 3- to 4-quart stockpot over medium-high heat and add the onions and cauliflower. Saute until the onion is soft and cauliflower is crisp-tender. Add the garlic, apples, walnuts, curry powder, and turmeric, and continue to cook for 4 to 5 minutes. Add the vegetable stock, water (and wine, if using), agave nectar, and cilantro. Lower the heat to medium-low and simmer until the vegetables are fork tender. Add the salt and pepper to taste, and serve. Serves 4.

This soup is perfect for a rainy spring day! It was quick and easy to make. I halved the recipe because I was short on walnuts, and then served it with rice. It was kind of a zingy little soup, mixed with some sweet, thanks to the agave, apple, and coconut oil. The author says that a soup like this would normally be blended, but I’m glad it wasn’t. It has such a great texture. And a crunch in soup, I kinda like it. I did not add the cilantro, because it’s my enemy. Feel free to add it if you like, but I feel it was just fine without it. Next time I’ll definitely make a full recipe, so that we can have leftovers that allow time for those super flavors to mingle overnight!
