from The Vegetarian Mother’s Cookbook by Cathe Olson

1 c rolled oats
1/4 c almonds
1 c whole wheat, spelt, or barley flour (I used spelt)
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 c raisins
1 c mashed ripe bananas (2 to 3 bananas)
egg replacer for 1 egg
1/3 c oil
3 tbsp blackstrap molasses
1/4 c plain nondairy yogurt

Preheat oven to 375F. Lightly oil muffin tins. In food processor or blender, grind oats and nuts to a course meal. Transfer to a mixing bowl and whisk in flour, baking soda, baking powder, and cinnamon. Stir in raisins. Beat remaining ingredients together until smooth. Add to oat mixture and stir just until mixed. Pour batter into prepared tins. Bake 20 minutes, or until tops are firm to the touch.

I had some bananas sitting on my counter turning spotty and brown faster than we could eat them. I thought banana bread, but then I saw this recipe, and since I was kind of on a muffin kick…
These muffins would most definitely fall into the health muffin variety. Little dense morsels of molassesy goodness, I’ll tell you what. There was no need for Earth Balance here, and I could have eaten three or four of these in a sitting. Molasses is a sweetener that’s actually quite good for you- supplying vitamins and minerals, and almonds are a superfood! I think they’d be really good with wee apple chunks in them, as the banana flavor was very subtle. These would be the perfect muffin to keep in your freezer for quick weekday breakfasts or snacks, especially for pregnant vegans looking to up their iron and vitamin B intake. Notice that there is no refined sugar- Guilt free, right?
