from The Millennium Cookbook by Eric Tucker and John Westerdahl

4 large heads garlic
1 cup vegetable stock, or dry white wine, or nonalcoholic white wine
1 tsp minced fresh rosemary
1 tsp minced fresh thyme

Preheat the oven to 350. With a large knife, cut off the top 1/2 inch from each garlic bulb. Place the garlic heads in a small baking dish. Add the stock, thyme, and rosemary. Cover tightly with aluminum foil. Bake for 1 1/2 hours, or until the heads are soft and slightly browned. Let cool to the touch. Squeeze the soft garlic out of the sliced-open top. Store in airtight container in the refrigerator for up to 1 week. Makes 1 cup.

This came from a cookbook I borrowed a LOOOOOONG time ago from Shutterbean, when I had the pleasure of going to Millennium in San Francisco with her family. If you ever have the chance to, you must go! Everything is so decadent and rich, although very healthy. Very few of the recipes have oil, and this garlic stands in for it in many of them. I’ll be adding it to my pasta this evening for dinner. This easy dish is one that you could make as a simple snack for guests- the garlic is so satisfying to squeeze out of the warm bulb and onto your garlic vehicle (bread, cracker, what have you…). As you probably know by now, dear reader, I LOVE GARLIC. This time I didn’t just double the garlic, I doubled the entire recipe. I think you could change the herbs around for different flavors, but the only switch I did was my use of dried thyme. It’s delish! You can add it to any kind of savory dish and it will add a mild caramelized garlic flavor. Enjoy!
Here’s what it looks like, all squeezed out and ready to spread:
