from Ani’s Raw Food Kitchen by Ani Phyo

Salad:
1/2 head read leaf or romaine lettuce, torn into bite-size pieces
1/2 bunch dinosaur kale (aka Lacinato kale), ribs removed and leaves torn into bite-size pieces
2 c red cabbage, chopped
1 c walnuts
1/2 c cherries, dried or fresh
Orange-Cucumber Dressing:
1 small cucumber, about 5 inches long, diced
1 medium orange, peeled, seeded, and diced
1/4 c extra virgin olive oil
1/4 c cashews
1 tbsp grated ginger
1 clove garlic (I might have used 2… they weren’t huge!)
Juice of one lemon, about 2 tbsp
1 tsp sea salt

Place lettuce, kale, cabbage, and walnuts in a large salad bowl.

To make the dressing, place all dressing ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth.

To serve, toss salad with Orange-Cucumber Dressing. Top with cherries for color.

Tossed salad will keep for one day in the fridge. Salad mix will keep for two days, and dressing will keep for three to four days when stored separately. Makes 4 servings.

Dang! This was even better than I expected it to be. It was like a fresh variation on the Caesar salad… with cherries and walnuts in place of the croutons. I was a bit worried that the kale would be too green tasting in here, but Mike said he didn’t really notice it when I asked him about it later. I think it mostly added texture… which made this salad so great. The dressing is heavenly; the cashews make it nice and creamy. I wonder if we would have tasted more cucumber had I resisted my garlic addiction? Perhaps next time I will have the strength. I can’t wait to make this for my family.
