from La Dolce Vegan by Sarah Kramer

3/4 c sugar
3/4 c peanut butter
1/3 c nondairy milk
egg replacer equal to 2 eggs (recipe follows)
1/2 tsp vanilla
1/3 c unsweetened cocoa powder
1/2 c flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 c vegan white chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350. (I found it helpful to line the cookie sheet with parchment paper). In a food processor, blend the sugar, peanut butter, “milk,” egg replacer, and vanilla until smooth. In a large bowl, stir together the cocoa powder, flour, and baking soda. Add the peanut butter mixture and chocolate chips to the flour and stir together well. Drop rounded tablespoonfuls of dough onto cookie sheet, press down flat with your fingers, and repeat process until dough is gone. Bake for 8-10 minutes. Let cool before removing from cookie sheet. Makes 8-10 large sized cookies.

Flax Seed Egg Replacer

2 tbsp flax powder + 3 tbsp water = 1 egg
In a small bowl, combine ingredients and allow to sit 2-3 minutes before adding to baking.

Last time I shopped at Vegan Essentials, I bought not one, but TWO packages of vegan white chocolate chips. I’ve scoured the shelves of the baked good aisle over and over again hoping to find these little gems, one of the few things I’ve really missed since giving up animal products. They are pretty comparable in flavor to regular white chocolate chips, but the texture is just a little bit waxier, before they’re cooked. Once they’re cooked, dang. Sooooo good.
This is a recipe that I’ve been itching to make since I got this cookbook for Valentines Day three years back! Finally! I have all of the ingredients in my hot little hands! They turned out really well, I think… though I’d probably not choose to do the flax meal egg substitute for this one in the future. It was the STICKIEST DOUGH I’D EVER SEEN. And I’ve seen a lot of dough. I think next time I’d use the Ener-G Egg Replacer, which is reminiscent of egg whites- very light and fluffy. The cookies ended up really dense and chewy, with the softest part being those delicious white chips. I doubled the recipe, and brought a bunch over to my neighbors, because these were dangerous to have around, despite their sticky beginnings.
