from The Conscious Cook by Tal Ronnen

2 tbsp yellow miso paste (I used white, because it’s what I already had)
3 tbsp rice vinegar
1 tbsp light agave nectar
1/4 tsp sea salt
1/4 tsp freshly ground black pepper
1/2 shallot, minced
1 garlic clove, minced (you know I used 2…)
juice of 1/2 lemon
1/2 cup safflower oil (I used a combo of canola and grapeseed oil)
1 tbsp minced fresh chives
1 1/2 c baby arugula
8 oz fingerling potatoes, boiled for 15 minutes, then sliced into 1/4″ thick rounds
8 oz green beans, blanched in boiling water for 1 minute

Place the miso paste, vinegar, agave nectar, salt, pepper, shallot, garlic, mustard, lemon juice and 1 tbsp water in a food processor and pulse to combine. With the motor running, slowly add the oil in a thin stream until the vinaigrette is emulsified. Fold in the chives.

Place the arugula, potatoes, and beans in a large bowl, drizzle with the vinaigrette, and toss to coat. Makes 4 servings.

Oh my goodness, oh my goodness. I was intimidated by this book, which Shutterbean sent to me for my birthday, because so many of the recipes have so many new ingredients and so many steps. So, I found a simple one that had ingredients that I was familiar with and didn’t have too many steps, and voila! Tastiness abound. I now have the guts to try something else. The dressing was so very delicious and the extra garlic made it a little zingy; I found myself wishing that I’d doubled the recipe to have more leftovers! We both had seconds, and found ourselves completely stuffed. I can’t wait to share this dish with family this summer!
