from my bestest prettiest friend in the entire universe’s blog, shutterbean.com

8 cups shredded green & red cabbage (carrots optional)
1 large red onion sliced in thin rings
1/2 c sugar
1 1/2 tsp salt
2 1/2 tsp celery seed – more if you like (I used more!)
2 1/2 tsp dry mustard -more if you like (I used more!)
1 1/4 tsp pepper
1/2 cup cider vinegar
1/2 cup vegetable oil

Put sugar, salt, celery seed, dry mustard, pepper and cider vinegar in a pan and bring to a boil. Stir in oil & blend. After dressing cools, pour over cabbage & onions 1-2 hours before serving. Toss well & toss again just before serving!

This is my ode to Bean. She has inspired me in so many ways in the kitchen… bought me cookbooks for my birthday, given me subscriptions to food magazines for Christmas, and sent me recipes both by snail mail and online. She’s always got her eye open for tasty vegan recipes, and when I visit her, she accommodates my tastes buds in such a way that I don’t really feel like returning to my own kitchen. She also inspired me to start this project, and I urge you to check out her blog. It’s beautiful- but get ready to drool.
We met while in school, and she graduated shortly thereafter, so most of our relationship has been a long-distance one. But does that stop us? No! I talk, text and chat with her more than I do anybody, and I must say that I was so sad to have to text her while making the Carnival Slaw, saying that I’d let her down. I used the shredder attachment for my food processor to PULVERIZE the cabbage. Here I’d been so proud of myself, because so often I’m reluctant to haul out the food processor because I never want to clean it up! Well, good thing that she had suggested putting the slaw on top of a burger, and that was what I’d had planned for his meal. Lo and behold, the fine texture of this slaw was perfect for scooping out and plopping atop a (veggie) burger! It seemed like it also absorbed the flavor really well, and like she said, the celery seed is sooooo good in this! And I don’t even like celery! The recipe made enough for us to have 3 meals, and Mike took some to work twice. So… about 10 servings! Thanks prettie, I love ewe!!!!
p.s. That Spiced Bundt Cake recipe she has is OSSUM.
