from Vegan Brunch by Isa Chandra Moskowitz

2 c whole wheat pastry flour
5 tsp baking powder
2 tsp dried thyme
2 tsp dried rosemary
1 tsp salt
3 tbsp cold nonhydrogenated vegetable shortening
2 tbsp cold nonhydrogenated margarine
1 c almond milk (or your favorite nondairy milk)

Preheat the oven to 450. Grease a baking sheet.

In a large bowl, mix together the flour, baking powder, herbs, and salt. Cut the shortening and margarine into the flour using your fingers or a pastry knife, or two knives held together, until pebble-to-marble-size pieces of dough form. Add the milk and use a wooden spoon to combine into a soft dough.

Use an ice cream scoop or 1/4-cup measuring cup (I used the cup and sprayed a little cooking spray into it for quick release) to scoop biscuits onto the baking sheet. Bake for 15 to 18 minutes, until the biscuits are lightly browned. Transfer the biscuits to a cooling rack but serve warm if you can. Makes 12 biscuits. (I got 10)

Mmmmmm, biscuits. I love them so much, that’s what we called our baby before she was born. “Will Biscuit like biscuits with jam when he or she is older?” “What is Biscuit more likely to be when he or she grows up: an architect, or a professional baseball player?” “What will Biscuit’s favorite color be?” So, I was pleased when my grandfather chose this recipe after flipping through this cookbook at my birthday dinner, and told me he’d like to try them. Last weekend we took brunch over to their house, and these tasty biscuits came along. They would be really good with some vegan sausage and mushroom gravy, but we ate them with Earth Balance margarine. They were savory and tasty, and easy to make! Also, just the right level of herbiness. Along with a fruit salad, this was a nice light breakfast that was easy to transport. I’ve already tried 2 other recipes from this cookbook: the Gingerbread Waffles were THE BOMB, and the scone recipe was a hit on Christmas morning with my husband’s family. I made the spiced raisin variation, and I’m drooling just thinking of them. Thanks for the great cookbook, Andrea! xoxo!
