from The Gluten-Free Vegan by Susan O’Brien

2 large yams
1 tbsp olive oil
1 c chopped onion
2 tbsp seeded and chopped red bell pepper
1 small jalapeño, diced
2 cloves garlic, chopped (I doubled the garlic!)
1 c seeded and diced tomato (I omitted this)
1 c tomato salsa (I used a 14 oz container since I omitted the tomato)
1 tsp chile powder
1 tsp ground cumin
1 (15 oz) can organic black beans, drained and rinsed
2/3 c chopped fresh cilantro (I omitted this because I don’t fancy cilantro)
2 tbsp lime juice
1/2 tsp salt (coarse kosher is best)
1/4-1/2 tsp freshly ground pepper
8 rice or hemp tortillas (I used whole wheat, so it’s not gluten-free anymore, sorry!)

There are two ways you can prepare the yams for the recipe: prick the yams all over with a fork, and bake in the oven at 400 degrees until soft but not mushy; or prick them with a fork and microwave until soft, 5 to 6 minutes on high (I did the latter as it was getting late and I was hungry). Time depends on your microwave and the size of the yams.

While the yams bake, heat a large skillet over medium-high heat and sauté the onion in the olive oil until soft, 3 to 4 minutes. Add the red bell pepper and jalapeño, and continue sautéing for another 3 to 4 minutes, or until the pepper becomes soft. Add the garlic and cook for 1 minute. Peel the yams, cut into cubes, and add to the vegetable mixture. Add the diced tomatoes, salsa, spices, black beans, cilantro and lime juice. Heat through. Season with plenty of freshly ground pepper and kosher sea salt.

Heat the tortillas and fill with the mixture. Serve with guacamole if desired.

I bought this book because my sister is gluten (and soy as well, though this book does have some recipes that call for it) intolerant. This makes our family dinners very interesting. We do potluck style, they have their protein, and we bring ours. Usually I’m on salad duty, but maybe I’ll bring this burrito filling as a side dish one of these days. It’s very good. The jalapeño is balanced so nicely by the sweetness of the yams. There were about 4 really big servings, though we didn’t make that many burritos. Mike had his seconds out of the shell. I can’t wait to try a dessert from this book, but I’m a little afraid because they look really tasty and some of them really rich.
