from Quick and Easy Vegan Comfort Food by Alicia C. Simpson

canola oil for the ramekins
1/4 c vegan cream cheese
1/4 c brown sugar
1/4 tsp grated nutmeg
2 large Bartlett or Bosc pears, peeled, cored, and roughly chopped (I didn’t peel them)
1/4 c oatmeal
1/4 c unbleached all-purpose flour
handful of raw pecans, roughly chopped (I used walnuts)
1/4 c nonhydrogenated vegan margarine

Preheat oven to 375.

Wipe down two 9- or 10-ounce ramekins with canola oil (I used much smaller ramekins. Are you catching on? I’m stubborn and do what I want. So I used 4 of them).

Combine the cream cheese, 2 tbsp brown sugar and nutmeg. Stir in the pears and spoon into the ramekins.

Mix the oatmeal, flour, 2 tablespoons brown sugar, and pecans. Add the margarine and cut it in with a pastry blender or fork. Sprinkle this mixture over the pears.

Place the ramekins on a baking sheet covered with foil to catch any drippings. Bake for 45 minutes, or until the pears are bubbling. Serve warm.

Yay Alicia! Way to make a comeback. This was so easy and quick to make, and very tasty. And that topping! Perfection. Just look at how it got all crusty on the edge of the ramekin. I loved having a little personal dessert in a sweet little baking dish. I topped mine with a scoop of coconut ice cream, and it was divine. And don’t leave out the nuts! The way that topping caramelized on them was sooooooo good. Enjoy!
