from FatFree Vegan Kitchen

For this one, I’m not posting the recipe. You’ll have to follow that link up there. I made these a few months ago, and I emailed Susan V. asking permission to post the recipe here in my usual format, but still haven’t heard back from her. So… have at it.
You’re looking at the leftover “falafels” as I ate them the next day. They were just as good as they were the night before! No, they’re not even close to a traditional falafel (which would not have been so tasty as a leftover). The texture is not even close. The density is though. And the flavor, pretty close. I suppose you could deep fry them and achieve something much closer, but that would be not so free of fat. What really made this dish a superstar was the super food sweet potato addition. You couldn’t really tell that they were in there! I cannot imagine it without the sauce; the falafels are a tad on the dry side.
I was a little surprised at how long these took me to make. Hence the picture of the leftovers, rather than a picture of our dinner as served the night before. They’d be good to make on a Sunday afternoon with plans to pack the leftovers into lunches throughout the week. I preferred them in a salad to inside a pita, as the pita dryness combined with the falafel dryness made for sauce sinning, which totally defeats the purpose of a fat free recipe. I can’t think of any way that I’d tweak this recipe! I think it’d be perfect for someone who doesn’t particularly care for sweet potatoes, but seeks to up her super food intake. Like my sister.
